Sandy -- I know your post was from '02 but just wanted to see how things have improved over the years (in case you are still checking this forum). I am also suffering from a DLK/CTK combination right now.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .